Liga Adelante

AhmedLa Liga 2

Liga Adelante Logo

Liga Adelante Logo               Courtesy:


LaLiga 1|2|3 Logo

New LaLiga 1|2|3 Logo               Courtesy:

Segunda Division, otherwise known as “Liga Adelante”, is the second association football division of the Spanish football league system under the Primera Division (La Liga). The name of the league was recently changed to La Liga 1|2|3 after recent sponsorship. The league is administered by the Liga de Futbol Profesional (LFP), same as La Liga. 22 teams participate in the league from which the 3 top teams are promoted to La Liga. And the bottom 4 teams are demoted to the Segunda Division B. The current champions of the league are Alaves.


The formation of the league took place in 1928 by the Royal Spanish Football Federation. The RFEF is also the basic committee for all the competitions held in Spain and for all the Leagues in Spain. Some of the oldest clubs in the league include RC Deportivo de La Coruña , RC Recreativo de Huelva, Real Sporting de Gijón, CE Sabadell and Real Murcia CF who have more than a century-long history of the league. The very first winner of the league was Sevilla who won the title in 1929. Real Murcia has won a total of 9 league titles. It has become the club who won the most league titles in history and played the most seasons with the league for a total of 52 times. Malaga has been promoted to La Liga a total of 13 times, becoming the team with the most promotions to the Primera Division.

  Euro 2016: Matchday 2 in Group B


The name of the League was changed to Liga BBVA in 2006. After the banking group BBVA signed a sponsorship with the club that lasted for 10 years. However, the name was extended to the Primera Division and the Segunda Division was renamed as Liga Adelante. This year, the league signed a sponsorship deal with Banco Santander and is now named as LaLiga 1|2|3.


The usual format for the team is same as La Liga in which every team in the league plays against every other team in the same league once at home and once away. The points are awarded points according to the results of the match. The team that manages to be at the top after the competition is declared the winner of the league.

Since 2010, there have been 22 teams in the league which makes up to a 42 match season. However, in this league, 3 teams at the end of each season are promoted to La Liga. The top two teams in the League are directly promoted, while the third team to be promoted is selected by a series of play-offs in which the teams from 3 to 6 take part to decide the winner. The bottom 4 teams in the League are relegated to the Segunda Division B.


Liga Adelante Trophy


9 titles – Real Murcia
7 titles – Real Betis
5 titles – Deportivo La Coruña, Sporting Gijón, Real Oviedo
4 titles – Malaga CF, Deportivo Alaves, Sevilla FC, Deportiva Las Palmas
3 titles – Celta de Vigo, Hercules CF, Real Valladolid, Atletico Osasuna, Real Sociedad, Granada FC

  Euro 2016: Matchday 2 in Group D


Malaga – 13 times
Real Betis – 12 times
Real Murcia, Deportivo La Coruña, Celta de Vigo – 11 times
Hercules CF, Racing de Santander, Real Zaragoza – 8 times Since 2010, there have been 2

Associated competitions

Copa del Rey
copa del rey


Copa del Rey is a competition which is being held since 1902. It was firstly celebrated on the coronation of King Alfonso XIII by the late president of Real Madrid Carlos Padros and is one of the oldest tournament in Spanish history. Different teams from different Spanish leagues take part in the competition. Teams from the Liga Adelante also take part in the competition. The competition includes the round of 32, 16, the quarterfinals and semifinals, all of which are played over two legs. However, the final is a one legged match which takes place in a random venue. Several teams from the Liga Adelante have won the competition numerous times.

Other websites to keep updated on Liga Adelante latest news and fixtures: